Home > Poetry > The Salve is Action

The Salve is Action

I look to the news and my heart breaks

Another slaughter, another tragedy

Everyday news

 

I look to the websites and my heart breaks

Another mountain strip-mined, another forest cut

Everyday news

 

I look to the feeds and my heart breaks

Another spill, another tragedy, another wrong

Another

Another

Another

 

My heart is full of sadness, and I look to my Gods

I ask Them for comfort, and the One Eye looks to me

 

What hope would I give you?  That, you must make.

Take that burn, that grief.

Act.

 

Do whatever is in you to do.

Words alone will not console, words alone will not heal this.

Act.

 

Do until you can do no more.

Speak where you can speak, until you have no more words.

Above all:

Act.

  1. February 19, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring
    on other blogs? I have a blog centered on the same subjects
    you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to send me an e mail.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

