Home > Poetry, Spirituality > The Old Ones

The Old Ones

Old ones laying in the lichyard

Under mound and tree and stone

I hear Your sacred Voices

I hear the call in Home

 

The bones sunk deep in earth

The ashes scattered wide

I seek Your sacred places

Where Your spirits still abide

 

Disir and Vater, ancient Trees

Whose roots reach so far down

I am here and listening

Where You all are found

 

  1. August 12, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    “The bones sunk deep in earth

    The ashes scattered wide

    I seek Your sacred places

    Where Your spirits still abide”

    OOOhhh.. LOVE THAT. Very chilling yet comforting in the ‘knowing.’

    • August 13, 2012 at 5:50 am

      Thank you, Anne. Looking for my Ancestors’ graves is something I am looking into doing. Just need to get find out where They are and some time off.

      • August 13, 2012 at 3:13 pm

        Good luck to you! If we had more money I’d be in Alabama at my own family’s grave-site (which dates to 1817or 1819 depending on how you interpret the worn marker) and spend some time there. I’ve been wanting to do that for years, but life has it’s way of tossing a wrench into my plans. I hope you have good fortune in your search.

  2. August 15, 2012 at 5:45 am

    Thank you very much. I think it is cool you know where your Dead reside. It’s something I’m trying to piece together from the folks. Here’s hoping in the near future you can visit your Ancestors as well!

  1. August 11, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

