Home > Ancestors, Heathenry, Northern Tradition, Song > For my Ancestors

For my Ancestors

Who requested I learn to play the basic tune on the kantele for Them.  Sometimes the things the Ancestors ask of us hurts the heart, and others, it lifts us up.  This song, for me, is something of both.  Reminds me of my grandfather.  Of family, Ancestors I’ve never met in the flesh.  Of those I will lose, and those who will lose me.

Joy and bittersweet.

Hail to all of my Ancestors.  May They ever be hailed.

  1. February 21, 2017 at 2:38 am

    In my U.S. History II classes, we always have “Irish Day” (sometimes twice!) in the quarter, and the students get extra credit if they: a) bring an Irish song from pre-1920 to sing (other than “Danny Boy” or “When Irish Eyes Are Smiling,” for $reasons!), or any folk song from that period; b) make pre-1920 Irish food (no corned beef and cabbage!) and bring it to share with everyone. Often, this song has been done by one of the students, and so I always make them do it last, because it wouldn’t be right to do it and then have five other songs after it, etc. 😉

    Quick question: has “The Jaguar and the Owl” gone defunct? Since I’m not on various social media, I wouldn’t have heard an update on this, but I just wondered…it was a great show when it was running, and I was always happy to listen to new episodes. If it is gone, I’m sorry to hear it, but I can certainly understand other things coming up and preventing it being done, etc.

    • February 21, 2017 at 2:41 am

      The Irish Day sounds pretty awesome. Good on you for exposing them to more Irish culture.

      We’re on hiatus as far as the podcast goes. We may record new podcasts here and there, though. However, between my new job and things in Jim’s life picking up speed, we couldn’t fulfill our commitment to every other week on Tuesday. So the radio show is done for the time being.

      • February 21, 2017 at 2:44 am

        Thanks for the info there.

        If you have any down-time mid-week in early May, I might have a few hours one evening (a Wednesday) when I arrive to Kalamazoo for the Medieval Congress to hang out, if you’d be up for it. I don’t have my travel itinerary yet, but if it can be done (and if not, no worries!), that would be very cool indeed! 😉

      • February 21, 2017 at 2:45 am

        I’m down for it. I’ll have the evening off if my schedule keeps as it has been.

      • February 21, 2017 at 2:50 am

        Awesome! As soon as I have a travel plan in order, I’ll let you know the details, and we can take it from there!

      • February 21, 2017 at 3:03 am

        Sounds good!

  2. February 21, 2017 at 2:56 pm

    This is a gorgeous sad song. I’m grateful that you’ve shared it with us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

