A Call for Submissions -An Anthology on the Hard and Fallow Times

Book Proposal

Type of Book: Anthology

Working Title Proposals: The Rough Road and the Fallow Field: Navigating the Hard Times

Going Through the Fallow Times

An anthology primarily of essays, personal experiences, meditations, theological writing, and other works exploring the fallow times in an animist and/or polytheist’s life, where the Gods, Ancestors, and spirits may be distant, silent, or in times of transition requiring separation. This anthology will also explore how to move through these times, how those who have little to no regular or peak spiritual experiences work through the fallow times, and what practices can sustain an animist and/or polytheist through them.

Word Length: Word Length: 800 words minimum for essays. Long essays welcome and encouraged. Prayers, poetry, rituals, and other explorations of the subject will also be accepted.  Please submit with no specialized fonts, in .doc, .docx, or .rtf file format.

Contributors will not be paid for this contribution. This is a one-time publishing opportunity, so you retain all rights to your piece and can use it as you wish after publication.

Any contributors need to give their legal names and addresses in the email for a release form for their work. Any contributors who wish to use a community name or pen name will need to note it in the release form.

The deadline for submissions is at September 21st, 2016, at 11:59pm, Eastern Standard Time (GMT-4)
Interested parties may email Sarenth@gmail.com.

  1. September 8, 2015 at 3:54 am

    Reblogged this on Freya: The Gold Thread and commented:
    For me to remember, and for those of you who’ve also had hard times.

  2. ganglerisgrove
    September 8, 2015 at 6:28 am

    Reblogged this on Gangleri's Grove and commented:
    CFS from Sarenth Odinsson for a new devotional.

  3. ravenamber87
    September 8, 2015 at 7:06 am

    Reblogged this on Raven's Online Moot and commented:
    Reblogged this in case anyone would be interested 😉

  4. ravenamber87
    September 8, 2015 at 7:10 am

    Reblogged on https://ravensonlinemoot.wordpress.com , in case it catches someone’s attention 😉

  5. September 8, 2015 at 11:56 am

    Hi Sarenth, I’d like to know, where are you planning to publish the antology?

    • September 8, 2015 at 2:14 pm

      At the moment I have not landed on a publisher.

      I know that Bibliotheca Alexandrina and Asphodel Press are both tapped for resources at the moment. My Elder suggested I may want to think about making an imprint of my own, and so, I am looking into it. Not because I have anything against either the aforementioned publishers, seeing as how I have work published by both of them, but because this is something I am really getting pushed to put together.

      • September 22, 2015 at 3:00 pm

        Sorry to have missed the deadline… I thought I had something to say about the topic (since I’ve had the experience), but I’m stuck in a writer’s block… :-/

      • September 22, 2015 at 3:06 pm

        You didn’t miss the deadline. The deadline is set for the Equinox (or thereabouts) next year, 2016.

  6. Sparrow
    September 8, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    That’s an excellent topic for an anthology!

    • September 9, 2015 at 8:36 am

      Thank you! Please, feel free to reblog this, share it on Twitter, Tumbr, etc.

  7. thelettuceman
    September 26, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    This entire book anthology could be summed up as “Lettuce’s Life”, I feel.

  8. September 27, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    Submitted

  9. December 2, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    This is an excellent topic! Good Luck for the project!

    • January 28, 2016 at 3:08 am

      Thank you! Please, if you have anything to submit, please do!

      • January 30, 2016 at 3:07 pm

        I would if I had anything valuable. I’m not sure my fragment would fit.

  10. January 28, 2016 at 1:42 am

    This is a wonderful topic Sarenth, especially when most people experience these dry times, no matter what spiritual tradition. I hope to send some to you in the future!

    • January 28, 2016 at 3:08 am

      Thank you! I am looking forward to reading your work!

  11. January 30, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    Reblogged this on Valiel's Notes In English and commented:
    I really don’t have a lot of followers here, but I wish to spread the word anyway. This anthology could be really useful and inspiring.

  12. September 7, 2016 at 12:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Snakeskin and commented:
    Reblogging this so I remember to submit something!

  13. September 25, 2017 at 6:48 pm

    Hi–is this still in progress? Because I’d like to read it but can’t find that it exists for purchase!

    • September 25, 2017 at 6:58 pm

      We are still putting this anthology together. It may be some time before it is ready. If it takes too long I may develop it into a book on my own.

      • September 25, 2017 at 7:02 pm

        Noted, thank you! 🙂

  1. September 22, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

