I pray

I cannot be in Nepal, today, helping to find the trapped, the dying, or the Dead, so I offer prayers.

I cannot be in Maryland, today, marching in solidarity, tending the wounded, or listening to others’ anger, so I offer prayers.

I cannot be in so many places where injustice reigns, where anger boils, where lamentation fills the air.

So I offer prayers.

I pray for the living, who have seen tragedy heaped upon tragedy.  I pray that justice is done whether they take it or it is given.

I pray for the cities, whose spirits are full of pain at the weight of their misery.  I pray for the necessary changes that will bring justice to them, and comfort to the city spirits.

I pray for the Dead, taken in violence, whose impact shakes their communities.  I pray that They are remembered, and that They are honored.

May the Gods, Ancestors, and vaettir be with them all.  Ves heil.

  1. April 29, 2015 at 10:53 am

    Yeah, I’m pretty sorry I can’t be marching up there with the police in solidarity to stop the injustice of homes and businesses burning. Fricken rioters. 😡

  2. April 29, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    Wonderful prayer and quite appropriate right now.

  3. April 29, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    Thank you for this, Sarenth…I feel as if there should be more words, but I am uncertain as to which–if any–are more appropriate at the moment.

    • April 29, 2015 at 8:10 pm

      Thank you, PSVL. I felt that maybe there should have been more words, but I hit this point of ‘there’s only so much I can say’.

      • April 29, 2015 at 10:59 pm

        Your prayer is perfect as it is; I felt as though more words should have perhaps been expressed on my part in response, reaction, or praise for your prayer, but wasn’t sure if there was anything further useful to say that you did not. So, you’re grand! 😉

      • April 30, 2015 at 12:25 am

        Thank you; that is high praise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

