Home > Questions > Open to Questions Year 2

Open to Questions Year 2

I am once again looking for topics to write on, so if you, or someone you know, wants me to dig into a topic let me know.

 

Ask questions!  It can be on anything related to my religion, Gods, vaettir, Ancestors, etc.

  1. June 29, 2014 at 8:13 am

    The poem to the Disir you just posted was WONDERFUL. Thank you. I was writing my morning Tai Chi post, and it popped up from email, and … I wound up reading it aloud. There’s Frankincense burning to the Sun as part of my morning practice, the room is slightly smoky and there’s light coming in through the curtains that catches the motes of dust and sets them glimmering. I could almost see the weavers and spinners of old, the warriors and the grandmothers. Thank you.

    As to topics: I know in my own practice that increasingly my work has turned to mastering skills of various sorts: I’ve been building pop-up books and working on my sewing machine, practicing calligraphy and geometry, and doing a fair bit of graphic design; the carpentry/cabinetmaking is rarer, but it’s there. And lately I’ve been doing a lot of cooking. Sometimes the work is phenomenally dull, other times it’s deeply interesting — but then the artwork and the mental acuity that comes from artisanship kicks in when I’m working for someone else. I find I solve problems better, sort out potential solutions more quickly, and settle on one faster. So, the topic I’d suggest is… write a series of posts about how your shamanic practice informs other specific parts or your life, or how skills like cooking or driving inform your experience as a shaman?

    • June 30, 2014 at 2:41 am

      Thank you, Andrew.

      I would be happy to sit down with this, and write on it.

  2. July 3, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    I have some questions that I am curious to know your thoughts on. Apologies if you have already effectively answered them in your previous posts.

    1. Are the Gods great Gods whom anyone on Earth may appeal to, or are they ancestral tribal spirits who confine themselves to looking over the descendants of northern Europe, or are they both? Or are they neither in your opinion? If so, how do understand their nature.

    2. Do you consider Frigg and Freyja to be one and the same great Earth Goddess (eg, Nerthus), or do you consider they are separate deities.

    3. What are your thoughts of the feminine divine in Germanic polytheism? I notice that very little is known about the household Gods, the Gods that women in their homesteads would have revered, the deity of the hearth, for example. This is a problem for me (I am a woman) and to be really honest although I am proud of my ancestral Gods I have a feeling that we have lost too much knowledge of the non-warrior Gods, the Gods of the women, the family, the hearth fire – so much so that we must look to kin-religions, such as Roman polytheism, to try to bridge the gap where so much knowledge has been lost. What are your thoughts on this?

    • July 4, 2014 at 6:54 pm

      Thank you very much for these questions. These are another batch of good questions I will need to take some time to think on, and respond.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

