Home > Religion, Uncategorized > 10 Years

10 Years

Today marks 10 years that I have been a Pagan.  I started this journey as a nominally polytheist/duotheist Neo-Wiccan, using Scott Cunningham’s book as my major guide for the first two years.  I became solidly polytheist after experiencing Anpu, Odin and Thor, and Jesus Christ in a guided meditation.  That meditation prompted me to become Anpu’s priest, and while I did not pursue following Odin at the time, it introduced me to Him.  I voraciously devoured anything I could get my hands on regarding the Egyptian Gods, ritual, practice, beliefs.  I have, to my embarrassment, forgotten far more than I remember.  I became a ceremonial magician, and studied evocation after doing a solid year of LBRP every single day in the shower.  I was unaware of Odin, for the most part, excepting He was a God I was nervous, if not fearful of.

After three years of serving only Him, Anpu told me that our relationship would be on the back burner while I learned from and served Odin, much to my shock.  I did much the same as I had with Anpu when Odin came around, grabbing sources, and reading and studying as much as I could even as I moved into worshiping Him.  Shortly after He pushed me to develop a deeper relationship with my Ancestors, and the landvaettir.  While gnosis and personal interaction have become and is a large part of my Work, I still remember how eagerly I devoured copies of the Havamal, and books on Norse myth just to learn a bit more.  I knew so little of Him.  Some days I feel I still know so little!

I have, in that time, been through many groups.  I’ve screwed up hard and done well hand-in-hand.  I’ve become more lax in some areas, more strident in others.  I went from being a ceremonial magician and only a priest of Anpu 8 years ago, to being all but thrown at Odin and becoming His priest as well as a shaman in the Northern Tradition 5 years ago.  I was adopted into the Anishinaabe 3 months ago.  In these 10 years I have become a father, and have raised my son with pride.  He has blessed my life each and every day, teaching me patience and sharing with me the simple pleasures of being a Dad.

I am part of many communities now.  I am a Wiccan Youth Minister at the Crossroads Tabernacle Church.  I am a member of House Sankofa.  I teach on the Northern Tradition, holding monthly lessons and building a small community here in Michigan.  I teach workshops at The Wandering Owl and ConVocation.  I am starting to get involved in Rendevous, a group that does historical reenactment from the fur-trapper years.  I am not where I thought I would be when I first started walking this path…and I am very grateful for it.

I have been blessed with a supportive and loving family, tribes, and people from many walks of life.  I have supportive, caring Elders, and communities that love me for who I am, and appreciate me for what I do.  I have many people I hold dear, many who are not blood family I now call family, Brother, Sister, and Mother.

The Gods, Ancestors, and spirits have blessed my life.  Hail to the Gods!  Hail to the Ancestors!  Hail to the spirits!  May the next ten years be as powerful, and full of blessings.

Thank you, all of you, who have walked this path with me.  Blessing to you and yours.  May your Gods, Ancestors, and spirits bless you, and walk with you.

  1. November 7, 2013 at 2:29 am

    10 years can go by so quick. Congrats, man.

    • November 7, 2013 at 3:14 am

      Thank you very much. Some days it feels like the blink of an eye, and others, forever and a day ago.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

