Home > Devotional Works, Poetry, Spirituality > Drum Prayer to the Ancestors

Drum Prayer to the Ancestors

This just came to me when I put my Ancestor beads on this morning.  I kept hearing a soft drum beat with it as I was writing.

 

You rise in my blood

The pounding drum

Life shares life

 

You cry in my throat

The wordless song

Voice raising voice

 

You walk in my feet

The endless trek

Stride matching stride

 

You grasp in my hands

The ever-present work

Grip linking grip

 

You echo inside

The shuddering beat

Soul stirs soul

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

