One Move Forward

Had a great move forward today: I told my folks I would be heading to bed after I lit a candle and some incense and made some prayers.  They just shrugged and said “Okay” and went to bed.  On Easter Sunday.  We have come a long way in seven years.  Thank the Gods for communication, respect, and love.  Thank the Gods.  If I had suggested anything like this a few years ago there would have been objections, and loud ones at that.

I don’t think it lessens them as Catholics, nor does it ‘put their house in danger’ for me to pray to my Gods like this.  The fact that they’re willing to have plurality like this at all is a blessing.  So, when people ask me “Can Pagans live alongside Christians?” I answer with an unequivocal “Yes!”.  Even though it may take time for our ways to become accepted, it is possible.  My parents are devout Catholics, and it has cheapened neither of our faiths to have dialogue and to pray alongside one another.  We may not say the same prayers at mealtime, but we nonetheless pray together, asking blessings upon one another with one another.  That peace and respect, to me, is what matters at the end of the day.

  1. April 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Such a message of hope thank you…

    • April 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      You’re welcome. Thank the Gods for hope; I would be lost without it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

