Home > General, Spirituality > Thoughts on Finding a Mentor

Thoughts on Finding a Mentor

Having a spiritual mentor is something I haven’t had for years.  To be honest, I haven’t had a terribly good track record in my life with them.  I tended to have people who guided me along…but an out and out mentor?  I haven’t had that in awhile.

The question that first came to my mind when I was told by my group that I had to find a spiritual mentor was “Okay…how the hell do I do that?”  It’s been a long while since I looked for a group, or had to find a mentor.  So I thought about this for a good bit.  I thought of the old “When the student is ready, the master will appear.”  That seems too laid-back for me.  How would the master appear if the student weren’t looking?

At first I had the thought “Alright, time to buckle down and find someone!” and then I had another one.  Perhaps I shouldn’t just attack this problem, but let it unfold.  One of the biggest issues I think I have had is a lack of patience, especially with myself.  Then I had another thought: “Well, I basically don’t have anything to do on Sundays besides the Horarium.  Perhaps I should look for a community to connect with?”  So for a worship community I am looking into Unitarian Universalism, as unfortunately most of the Pagan or Pagan-oriented services I would go to are quite a ways away.  If nothing else, checking it out won’t hurt.  Perhaps by coming back into being part of a community rather than leading one will help me grow.

But what of a mentor?  I am not sure right now.  I have personal correspondence with several friends, and one of them has been kind enough to listen to my questions, doubts, and concerns in regards to Odin, and has helped me a great deal in working through the initial stages of accepting and moving forward from where I was.  I am looking for a physical mentor, but if they cannot be found, I will be happy with those I have found, and those who reveal themselves to me.

Categories: General, Spirituality
  1. Ouranophobe
    April 18, 2011 at 12:32 am

    I have a hard time finding mentors, too. I fear it’s because I’m not as open to receiving mentorship as maybe I should be, but, then, if there’s one thing I’m pretty good at, it’s self-doubt. Heh.

    What I’ve been doing lately is thinking about what it is I want to learn. Where do I think my growth areas are? Where is it I want to be in five years, ten years, twenty… and what do I see standing between the person I am today, and the person I want to be at those “milestones”? Also, I’m spending some time with the concept of mentorship and teaching, mentors and teachers. What is it I’m looking for in a mentor? How will I know when I’ve found one?

    How very Air of me, huh? I don’t have any answers fully formed, yet, but they’re coming.

    I wish you blessings of strength and light in your quest.

    • April 18, 2011 at 12:39 am

      Thanks, I appreciate it. For me, it is a combination of Water and Air. I need to be able to emotionally and intellectually connect with the person. I found a lot of my work in mentorship was usually divided between these two tasks; for some people I was more Air, others, more Water. Of course, the other elements played into it, but for mentorship I see these two as being the big elements.

  2. April 18, 2011 at 5:21 am

    Woooow… Sarenth dear it just touched in th every core of my soul. It’s so strange that we are “synchronised” like that ! It’s been a while since your posts are in keeping with my own personel reflexions.

    My path as a potential shaman is finally being lit, and I’m moving forward (I guess), but this is just what I ponder upon : I may need a mentor. And thus : why ? what is mentor ? why do I need know ? And mostly the question of : how to find one ? it’s funny that for now I cope with correspondances too, intense conversations with whom I can, exchange of experiences. (and you’re a great part of that ;))

    So your post was just…. interesting, deeply interesting, correspond to my own personal thoughts.

    Dver, thank you too for stopping by, your remarks are enlightening too.

    • April 18, 2011 at 5:55 am

      I am glad that my post has come so close to your own experiences. 🙂

      I am glad you are finding your path, and it is well-lit. To me a mentor is a helpmeet, someone who helps you are on your path without giving you all the answers. Someone who can be equal parts sounding board and taskmaster as the need comes us. As for what you need to know, in my experience I work it out between myself, the Gods, and what expectation of my mentor and I have.

      I am glad to be part of your growth; you honor me.

      *nods* I am glad my post helps, even if only to feel connection.

  1. April 18, 2011 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

