Home > Spiritual Experience, Spirituality > Working with Gods and Spirits from Outside Your Pantheons

Working with Gods and Spirits from Outside Your Pantheons

It’s ironic that a few days after writing about working with many Gods in my own personal pantheon, I have been tapped by beings outside of it to deliver messages.  I suppose, given my work, I shouldn’t be surprised, but I am.  I am surprised, at times, by some of the Gods and spirits that grab me to deliver messages.  For instance, I was never expecting Lwa to come to me to give messages to people.  I haven’t expressed interest in working with Them except for going to a Gran Bwa Fete, and I haven’t had contact with Them since.  Yet, both Papa Legba and Ogoun have used my body for that purpose.  It’s not that I am against Them, but given I only interacted with Them all of one time, I was surprised by the “we need to use you to give a message to x person”.

One of the reasons it surprises me is because in my admittedly small study of Haitian Voodoo via Mama Lola, and scant online resources, there is the idea that the space must be prepared well in advance for the arrival of the Lwa, and certain calls must be made for Papa Legba to open the door to the Crossroads for the Lwa to come.  To my knowledge there was no such preparation involved, though Papa Legba did come first earlier in the evening through another, also non-initiated non-Vodoo practitioner (I remember His energy and feel from the ritual where He did possess me for a bit during the Fete), and Ogun (I remember His energy but He did not possess me).  They came in, delivered Their messages (Papa Legba earlier, Ogoun tonight) and left.  Ogoun asked me to smoke a good cigarette for Him tonight and asked for a bevy of offerings to be given later on.

So I sit at this interesting crossroad, wondering what the hell happened that I attracted the notice of the Lwa so much.  Sure, there is somebody I know They have expressed interest in, but I suppose I’ve been thrown for a loop in my experiences.  I had every intention of leaving the Lwa be, and being let alone in kind.  Thoughts and ideas are welcome.

  1. TwoSnakes
    February 7, 2011 at 6:55 am

    There are fewer people listening to the spirits, and they need to get things done. They go to whoever has their ears open no matter what pantheon I think.

    • February 7, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      That’s true. I guess it’s just odd to me; I never intended n working with Them, but here They are. *chuckles*

  2. February 7, 2011 at 8:33 am

    I knew it from the last time you wrote about it, that a stranger spirit came to you that you later identified as a Lwa, that you were going to work with them. I can’t explain it but they are “on” you for now, and they are several, who want to work with you. Prepare yourself dear, it’s just the beginning of a new aspect of your work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

