Home > Spiritual Experience > Praying with the Ancestors

Praying with the Ancestors

One of the hardest concepts that has come into my practice since I began working with Odin has been working with my Ancestors.  The next hardest was working with Them on a daily basis, inviting Them to share my life.  It was not until I began working with Him that my Ancestors ever really perked up.  Whether this was because I first encountered the idea with Him, or because I was simply ignoring Them up to this point, I do not know.  What I do know, is once I made that invitation, all the Ancestors from the many facets of my blood and spirit ties began to make themselves known.

For a time, it was overwhelming, and They mercifully gave me a few spokespeople to work with.  These few voices from my ancestry were encouraging, speaking each from their own point of view, and yet, there is an overarching message: we want to be part of your life, to share in it, and bless it if you invite us into it.  This broke with what I thought would be many of my Ancestors’ reactions; stretching back, a good chunk of my family is Roman Catholic, and I didn’t figure even the last few generations would want anything to do with a Pagan.  It turns out that family matters more than spiritual beliefs, and even my Roman Catholic Ancestors have insights that I would not have gleaned were it not for Them.  Although a good chunk of my work will and probably will be with Odin, my Ancestors are making Their voices heard each and every day with me.  All I have to do is listen.

Categories: Spiritual Experience
  1. February 5, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Funny that you publish now an article about that, when I just decide to do the same, that is, integrating the Ancestor in my practise (and not just thoughts and reflexions).

    Is there any article you wrote available somewhere ? Or even here, a testimony about your practise ? I’ll be curious to go further on this matter. (How you proceed or stuff)

    • February 6, 2011 at 4:01 am

      Actually there is an article where I wrote on this at length, here, the front page continuing here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

