Home > Call for Submissions > Call for Submissions -Ancestor Devotional Anthology

Call for Submissions -Ancestor Devotional Anthology

The Call for Submissions

Asphodel Press

Working Title:  Calls to Our Ancestors

Description:  An anthology of prayers, poems, devotional pieces, essays, personal experience, and/or artwork in honor of our Ancestors.  This anthology draws from a variety of sources and authors, and may include Ancestors worship in the form of spirits and/or Gods as well, for those whose beliefs encompass this.

What is not desired: fanfic, ego-stroking, self-aggrandizement.  It’s one thing if you believe you’re sired by a God/dess, it’s another to treat other humans as lower than yourself.

Word Length: 800-1500 words minimum for essays.  No specialized fonts, please.  All formats for written pieces should be in a .doc, .docx, or .rtf file format.  Any devotional pieces, artwork, etc. in visual format needs to be submitted in no less than 300 dpi format, preferably .tiff or .png for lossless quality.

Contributors will not be paid for this contribution. This is a one-time publishing opportunity, so you retain all rights to your piece and can use it as you wish after publication.

Any contributors need to give their legal names and addresses in the email for a release form for their work.

The deadline for submissions is June 2nd, 2011 at 11:59pm.

Emails for interested parties can be sent to Sarenth@gmail.com.

Categories: Call for Submissions
  1. November 23, 2010 at 12:35 am

    What a great idea. May the ancestors smile upon your efforts and bring this project to fruition.

    A quick question, however. How loosely are you defining “ancestors?” For instance, I’m very much engaged in the cultus of the deified Ptolemies (and honor a variety of other deceased individuals) to the point where they are valued just beneath the gods and land-spirits. However, I’m not related to any of these people by blood. So, would you still be interested in something like that?

    Also, would it be okay if I posted about this project over at The House of Vines?

  2. November 23, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Thank you. My Ancestors seem quite taken with the idea when They suggested it.

    I am defining the term Ancestors quite loosely. I, for one, mark Odin as my spiritual Father, hence my last name Odinsson. I would consider Him a spiritual Ancestor, to whom I may write a devotional for this book. So yes, I am very happy to publish anything you have to this end. I would like it if people did explain, even if briefly for a poem, how they relate to their Ancestors.

    I would love it you reposted; thank you! That goes for anyone else wishing to spread the word!

  3. November 24, 2010 at 4:30 am

    Thanks to Sannion I got th news and I wanted to drop by and post a note.

    I’m absolutely thrilled by this project ! Anthologies are a very interesting format for pagan books, and are not so numerous for the moment. A new anthology is good news, but an anthology about Ancestor Worship is beyond expectations, I only dared dreaming about it !

    Is it only addressed to Native english speakers ?

  4. November 24, 2010 at 7:28 am

    I’m looking for any and all interested people, but the final product will be in English. I’m hoping that any non-English submissions are translated by those who submit them; I do not have a grasp on any foreign languages at the moment.

    I’m glad to hear people are getting so excited; thank you for your enthusiasm! I’m excited to be getting this project moving, and with so many responses in only a few days!

    • November 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

      It’s very interesting… I wish myself to contribute to the project actually. I’ll publish/relay the annoncement on the French Web because it really may be a great news for many of us (for reading but also maybe contributing).

      • November 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

        Wonderful; thank you for doing that. I’ll be happy to read all of your submissions.

  1. November 23, 2010 at 7:36 am
  2. November 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm
  3. November 24, 2010 at 9:22 am
  4. December 5, 2010 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

