Meeting Bast

I met You in the depth of night

I knew You little then

Pictures in a book

A statue

You were a Goddess

remote to me

Someone worthy of honor

I had Anpu, and I thought that was enough

You came to me in ritual

Laid Your paw upon my chest

In that moment I felt

So much

Terror

Awe

Respect

Adoration

So very much

You made me want to dance with wild joy

To be

So much of You is missed

Between the covers of a book

The scratchings upon scrolls

So much I would have missed

Were I never to look upon Your feline Face

Implacable

Passionate

Powerful

Far more than ‘just’ a housecat; a Goddess

Far more than ‘just’ a joyous One; a Protector

Far more than words can say

Far more than pictures show

Yet You are those too

So many ways have I

been blessed to know You

Holy Bast

  1. January 29, 2014 at 5:32 am

    I love the Egyptian mythology references used!

    • February 6, 2014 at 6:19 pm

      Thank you. For me, part of the power of doing this devotional poetry is I will have something I want to say, and to say it in the right way I will do research and look at the titles, history surrounding, and stories of the Gods.

  2. February 6, 2014 at 5:44 am

    Love yes she is so so so much more. She also like the Norse people I am not sure why. I find more and more Heathens etc called by her sultry voice.

    • February 6, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      In my case I worshiped Anpu then came to Her through Him and worshiped Her. It was only about five years ago that I began worshiping the Norse/Germanic Gods. I do find it interesting how so many of us are called to by Her and Her fellow Gods.

  3. Teka Lynn
    February 6, 2014 at 9:59 pm

    Dua Bast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 821 other followers

