Home > Call for Submissions, Devotional Works > Call for Submissions: Ancestor Devotional Anthology

Call for Submissions: Ancestor Devotional Anthology

Hello everyone.  Given the interest and fantastic submissions that have started to come in, I am extending the deadline to October 31st, 11:59pm.  I hope that as word spreads there will be even more submissions.  Please, if you or anyone else you know does Ancestor devotions and/or work, or even has just started beginning working with their Ancestors, encourage them to submit their writing, or art to this project.  The details are listed below.  If you have any questions you can post them here or send them to Sarenth@gmail.com.

The Call for Submissions

Asphodel Press

Working Title:  Calls to Our Ancestors

Editor: Sarenth

Description:  An anthology of prayers, poems, devotional pieces, essays, personal experience, and/or artwork in honor of our Ancestors.  This anthology draws from a variety of sources and authors, and may include Ancestors worship in the form of spirits and/or Gods as well, for those whose beliefs encompass this.

What is not desired: fanfic, ego-stroking, self-aggrandizement.  It’s one thing if you believe you’re sired by a God/dess, it’s another to treat other humans as lower than yourself.

Word Length: 800-1500 words minimum for essays.  No specialized fonts, please.  All formats for written pieces should be in a .doc, .docx, or .rtf file format.  Any devotional pieces, artwork, etc. in visual format needs to be submitted in no less than 300 dpi format, preferably .tiff or .png for lossless quality.

Contributors will not be paid for this contribution. This is a one-time publishing opportunity, so you retain all rights to your piece and can use it as you wish after publication.

Any contributors need to give their legal names and addresses in the email for a release form for their work.  However, we can publish you under a pseudonym or community name if you would like.

The deadline for submissions is October 31st, 2011 at 11:59pm.

Emails for interested parties can be sent to Sarenth@gmail.com.

  1. June 8, 2011 at 2:53 am | #1

    I really intend to participate… but I’m so damn’ tired and overwhelmed by work and other.

    I’m glad that the date is put further away in the year, it will allow me try to write something.

    • June 8, 2011 at 3:00 am | #2

      I am glad the new date is better for you. I hope you submit something to the anthology!

      • June 8, 2011 at 6:27 am | #3

        I think I struggle because this intensity of reflection on this subject is new to me (not one year entierely). So I have a great many things to say but the pieces are scattered, it could be several articles…. I need time to find the main thread and to put words on it.

        Cf: if you want to have a little idea about that, I wrote an article about the sacredness of Time on the English blog.

  2. July 29, 2011 at 2:19 pm | #4

    I am very interested. I am putting this on my to-do list and will try to get something to you as soon as I can.

    btw I am one of the Organizers of the Gender & Earth-Based Spirituality Conference

    • July 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm | #5

      Wonderful; I am glad to hear that. I am looking forward to your submissions!

      Your Gender and Earth-Based Spirituality Conference is of great interest to me; I hope that it goes over well!

  3. January 23, 2012 at 12:53 pm | #6

    Hey Sarenth: if I may ask, how are things proceeding on the devotional? (I know how slow these processes can be, since I’m engaged in editing several myself at the moment!)

  1. June 8, 2011 at 2:58 am | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

